County tourism award presented to Munson-Williams-Proctor Arts Institute CEO


Oneida County Tourism’s 2020 Christopher P. Destito Tourism Leadership Award has been presented to Anna Tobin-D’Ambrosio, president and chief executive officer of the Munson-Williams-Proctor Arts Institute of Utica, at OCT’s 36th annual meeting on Thursday at 72 Tavern in the Adirondack Bank Center in Utica.

The award is given to an individual or businesses contributing to making the region a tourism destination.

The nomination for Tobin-D’Ambrosio said: “Anna has led MWPAI through unprecedented challenges caused by a global pandemic and launched a detailed and ambitious five-year strategic plan ... making MWPAI even more relevant to a larger and more diverse population. New collaborations throughout the area will further engage the community and better serve everyone. More than half of MWPAl’s 90,000 annual attendance comes from outside Oneida County. Anna’s leadership, vision, and dedication to our community will help ensure that tourism remains strong in Oneida County.”

The inaugural award was presented in 2010 to RoAnn Destito posthumously in honor of Christopher P. Destito, her husband. Christopher Destito was a founding board member of the Oneida County Convention & Visitors Bureau, doing business as Oneida County Tourism, establishing the bureau in 1984, subsequently spearheading legislation to create the occupancy tax that funds tourism promotion for Oneida County. Other honorees are: 2019: Robert Esche, Mohawk Valley Garden; 2018: Joe Rizzo, Sylvan Beach; 2017:The Matt Family, Utica; 2016: Elizabeth Irons, Oneida County Public Market; 2015: John Fehlner, Broadway Utica; 2014: Gene Falvo, Adirondack Scenic Railroad; 2013: Patrick Goodenow, Sylvan-Verona Beach Resort Association; 2012: The Stewart Family, Sylvan Beach; and 2011: Mark Cherry, Radisson Hotel Utica Centre


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here