Buttenschon holds annual Women of Distinction award ceremony


UTICA — Assemblywoman Marianne Buttenschon, D-119, Marcy, held her annual Women of Distinction awards ceremony on Thursday at the Utica State Office Building, 207 Genesee St.

Awards were presented to 91 women from the Mohawk Valley for their work spanning various fields.

“The Mohawk Valley has been shaped by incredible women who inspire us to do better for our families, friends and neighbors,” Buttenschon said.

“An extraordinary number of nominations were received for this year’s Women of Distinction awards, showing how many remarkable women call our communities home. Honoring our local heroes is important, especially during these unprecedented times we’ve faced,” Buttenschon added.

“This year’s honorees are helping make our communities stronger and serve as role models for the next generation of barrier-breaking women,” she said.

This year’s honorees and those who nominated them, nominees and their families were invited to the awards ceremony.

New York State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli also attended the event and congratulated the honorees. All nominees reside within the 119th Assembly District, which includes the cities of Rome and Utica and the towns of Floyd, Frankfort, Marcy, Deerfield and Whitestown. 

Buttenschon congratulated the nominees and extended her gratitude to the nominators who provided the stories of these remarkable women.

This year’s list of nominees include: Lisa Alteri; Dr. Rozeena Ayaz; Deanne Balutis; Rev. Sharon Baugh; Jovita Bernard; Lisa Betrus; Joan Bisgrove; Rebecca Blanchard; Jane Boice; Cristiana Cabral; Shirley Caldwell;

Angela Carter; Gina Ciaccia; Kristina Dare; Tanya Davis; Patricia DeMatteo; Terri DiNitto;

Jane Domingue; Jessica Dubois; Andrea Duvall; Andrea Dziekan; Nancy Eannace-Viti;

Eileen Edwards; Mona Lisa Fermin; Sarah Flihan; Paula Flisnik; Wendy Goetz; Donna Grippe; Julie Grow-Denton; Freddi Hamilton;

Robbie Hamlet-Dancy; Cheyenne Hawkins; Elaine Hickel; Lucretia Hunt;

Dominique Jane; Dr. Cynthia Jones; Kay Klo; Maria Kontaridis; Valerie Labella; Dawn Laguerre; Regina Lalonde;

Shelley Land; Jennifer Macero; Tamalin Martin; Rev. Ursla Meier; Patricia Meyers; Cindy Molesky; Dr. Hannah Monk; Zaida Morrell; Lori Ann Myers;

Shirley Nacsi; Christine O’Connor; Brenda Outwater; Cheryl LaValley Partyka; Rev. Maritza Perez; Kimberly Petronella;

Michele Reid; Jacqueline Romano; Ashely Rose; Jennifer Scalise; Beth Scarafile;

Jennifer Shades; Tammy Sharpe; Cassandra Sheets; Dr. Nancy Shaheen; Cynthia Sirni;

Kathryn Stam; Jaimie Stasio; Evanna Sullivan; Deborah Sweet-Price; Raquel Tavares; Stacy Tiller;

Anna Tobin D’Ambrosio; Amy Turner; Vanessa Vaccaro, Marie Viscelli; Anita Vitullo;

Dr. Emily Volz; Kelly Walters; Tina Ward; Jennifer Wold; Lillian Wood, Sandy Wright, and Anne Marie Zakala.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here