$130 million school budget passes in Rome; $16.6 million budget passes in Oriskany


Voters passed the $130.2 million Rome City School District budget, garnering 61% of the vote, according to figures released by the district Tuesday night. The tally was 1,097 in favor of the budget and 698 opposed.

According to the district’s budget proposal, the $130.2 million budget is an increase of 5.96% over the 2021-22 budget. The newly passed spending plan has a tax levy of $36,543,239 and will raise taxes 2.5% for district property owners.

In addition to the budget, district voters also chose four candidates for the board of education. Earning three-year terms on the board were the top three finishers in the election: Jon Maggiolino, 1,378 votes; Kelly Carinci, 1,365 votes; and Cassie Knutti, 1,016 votes. The fourth-place finisher, Danielle Lubecki, 930 votes, was elected to finish the term of former board member Craig Ferretti.

"I'm looking forward to getting started and working with the board to make good decisions for the community," Maggiolino said. 

Added Carinci, "I am excited to see what change will come forth with our new leadership."

Also on the ballot were, in order of votes received were: JoAnn Cook, 843 votes; Renee Pasqualetti, 767 votes; Lisa Herbowy, 529 votes; and Tanya Davis, 232 votes.

“I would just like to congratulate all the winning candidates,” Davis said, “and I’m looking forward to spending a lot more time with my family.”

A proposition, to create an additional capital reserve with a maximum limit of $5,000,000 passed 1225 votes in favor to 554 opposed.

In Oriskany, voters approved the district’s $16.68 million budget by a margin of 115 in favor to 25 opposed. District voters also approved the creation of a new 10-year reserve fund by a 114 to 36 vote as well as a levy for local library by a 119 to 22 vote.

Elected to serve as trustees for the board of education were Louis Ciotti with 115 votes; James Chase with 109 votes and Michelle Anderson with 98 votes.

Budgets were also approved in the following districts: Adirondack, Dolgeville, Frankfort-Schuyler, Hamilton, Herkimer, Holland Patent, Remsen, Utica, Vernon-Verona-Sherrill, Waterville, Webb (Old Forge), West Canada Valley, Westmoreland and Whitesboro. Vote tallies and additional information will be updated on www.ursentinel.com.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here